Colin Matthews’ reworking of the first movement of Mahler’s Piano Quartet transformed it into a full-blooded Mahlerian orchestral work with savagely seething climaxes. Shostakovich’s Second Piano Concerto stands miles apart from many of his other works in its sense of freedom and abandon. It is a gloriously free, wistful creation – an unrestrained delight from start to finish, particularly in the famous, soulful adagio, which guarantees the whole work’s enduring popularity. Sibelius’ dramatic and austere First Symphony is significant in that never before had a work of such stature emerged from Northern Europe, unveiling the previously unheard character of Nordic music, sounding both ‘old’ and ‘new’ at the same time.

Pre-Concert Talk

Make the most of your concert by getting to know the music in more depth with our informative video about the pieces being performed.

Please note the conditions in place for entry into the Guildhall for this concert. Proof of a negative NHS Lateral Flow Device (LFD) demonstrated via a text message or email from NHS Test and Trace or via the NHS App. The test must be taken within the 48 hours preceding entering the event. This will be necessary for anyone aged 11 years and older OR proof of full vaccination: both doses received at least 14 days prior to the event demonstrated via the NHS App or your vaccine card issued at vaccination centre OR proof of natural immunity based on a positive PCR test within the last 180 days of the event (and not in the last 10 days). More details and links to get your NHS Covid Pass can be found on the NHS website.

Works and composers

Mahler (orch. Matthews) Nicht zu schnell
Shostakovich Piano Concerto No.2
Sibelius Symphony No.1