The first of the second set of London Symphonies, Haydn’s Symphony No.99 shows how the master of the four movement classical symphonic form was influenced by the modern thinking of younger contemporaries – Mozart, of course. It is also the first symphony in which Haydn used clarinets. On the completion of his mature Second Piano Concerto, Brahms announced his “ever so tiny piano concerto with an ever so tiny and dainty scherzo.” The music told another story however – Brahms had created arguably the most monumental piano concerto of the 19th century.

CLICK HERE to view the livestream for this concert.

The concert is available to view on demand for 30 days after the orginal performance until 7.30pm (GMT) on Friday 20 November.
The concert livestream will be accessible behind a paywall on the BSO website as an embedded Vimeo video stream. It is best to watch through an up-to-date browser (we recommend Google Chrome on a PC and Safari on an Apple device). You can then connect to your TV or HIFI via a cable connection. An Amazon Firestick is also compatible using the Amazon Silk browser direct on a TV as well as most default browsers on SMART TVs.

Works and composers

Haydn Symphony No.99
Brahms Piano Concerto No.2

Supported by

Mike & Pam Jeffries