A charming collection, the suite is lifted from music Bizet composed for Daudet’s play The Girl from Arles – a tragic story about unrequited love. Ravel’s G Major Concerto sparkles with energy and a sense of spontaneity, but it is far from casual in its craftsmanship, drawing upon Basque and Spanish melodies, jazz riffs and even his childhood fascination with mechanical toys. An early work by Prokofiev, his orchestral “sketch” paints a vivid picture. Mussorgsky’s musical wander through a fictitious gallery of works by his friend Victor Hartmann is a beautifully curated series of miniatures, some intimate, others grotesque, but all imbued with vivid orchestral colour by Ravel’s genius for scoring.

You can join us live in the Concert Hall or online for this concert; book your desired in person or digital ticket by clicking on the appropriate button.

Works and composers

Bizet L’Arlesienne Suite
Ravel Piano Concerto in G
Prokofiev Autumnal Sketch
Mussorgsky (arr. Ravel) Pictures at an Exhibition