Rachmaninov’s Rhapsody is an exercise in both compositional and pianistic prowess. It brilliantly exploits Paganini’s theme in a freely imaginative and rhythmically energetic Romantic outpouring, forged into a continuous and potent drama, and brimming with white-hot inspiration. Ukrainian, Thomas de Hartmann was a contemporary of Rachmaninov. He is a largely forgotten, yet major late-Romantic voice, as displayed in his suite extracted from his successful 1906 ballet. The Fourth Symphony is at once a summation of Brahms’ learning and technique, and a work of art that for all its complexities cuts as close to the heart of the heart as music can. Of all Brahms’ works, it displays his essence most completely – a cosmos of textures, tempos and moods, culminating in music of unsurpassed grandeur.

Please note this concert is being livestreamed and some shots will include wide angle views of the audience.

Works and composers

de Hartmann The Scarlet Flower Suite
Rachmaninov Rhapsody on a Theme of Paganini
Brahms Symphony No.4

With thanks to all our BSO Members and Supporters

In memory of

Canon & Mrs Ivor Jeffrey-Machin