Kate Whitley pieces have been described as “unpretentious and appealingly vigorous music”. This co-commission with Royal Northern Sinfonia will be an exciting and accessible melding of performers. The fresh, sweet and lightness-of-touch of Tchaikovsky’s First Symphony betrays none of the nagging self-doubt that attended its creation as he grappled with the challenge of fusing distinctly Ukrainian folk melodies into a structured symphony. He gave some descriptive titles to the first movements: Reveries of a Winter Journey and Land of Desolation, Land of Mists.

BSO Resound and RNS Moves feature as soloists in Falling alongside their colleagues from Bournemouth Symphony Orchestra.

Please note this concert is being livestreamed and some shots will include wide angle views of the audience.

Works and composers

Whitley Falling (world premiere)
Debussy arr. Gould Reverie
Tchaikovsky Symphony No.1 'Winter Daydreams'

Supported by

Dave & Jan Pointer