The first of the second set of London Symphonies, Haydn’s Symphony No.99 shows how the master of the four movement classical symphonic form was influenced by the modern thinking of younger contemporaries – Mozart, of course. It is also the first symphony in which Haydn used clarinets. On the completion of his mature Second Piano Concerto, Brahms announced his “ever so tiny piano concerto with an ever so tiny and dainty scherzo.” The music told another story however – Brahms had created arguably the most monumental piano concerto of the 19th century.

Ticket holders will gain free access to our Pre-Concert Talk featuring Andrew Burn, which will be available to view online from Monday 19 October.

Works and composers

Haydn Symphony No.99
Brahms Piano Concerto No.2

Supported by

Mike & Pam Jeffries