Journey through the past with the BSO as Sibelius’ Finlandia takes you on a tour of Finland’s epic history, Saint-Saens’s Cello Concerto jolts with the explosive energy of the French Third Republic and Grieg conjures up traditional Nordic folk melodies with his Norwegian Dance No.1. The evening will then be capped off with a performance Tchaikovsky’s Symphony No.5, bringing the romantic era and 19th century Russia to life through its flowing, vivid strings.  

Four of the most powerful composers in the history of classical music are presented here by Classic FM’s Orchestra in the South of England in full effect, bringing astounding classical music to you under the baton of the BSO’s Young Conductor In Association Marta Gardolinska. Hear four distinct selections from the classical repertoire spanning across Europe as well as epitomising the sound of classical music at the turn of the 20th century. 

Saint-Saens’ Cello Concerto will be performed by Jesper Svedberg, a phenomenal cellist who has performed worldwide with the Swedish Radio Orchestra and the BBC Scottish Symphony, as well as performing at Carnegie Hall and the famed Concertgebouw. 

Works and composers

Sibelius Finlandia
Grieg Norwegian Dance No.1
Saint-Saëns Cello Concerto No.1
Tchaikovsky Symphony No.5