Schubert’s concise Third Symphony, written in 1815 during an explosion of creativity which saw over 200 compositions written, nevertheless foreshadows ideas that would expand the scale of the symphony. Liadov’s brilliant and fantastical tone poem is one of the most beautiful atmospheric depictions of a lake, inhabited by fairies and wood sprites, in the moonlight. Shostakovich’s Ninth Symphony was written in a fateful year – 1945 – and subverted the expectations of the Russian musical world. Devoid of pompous grandeur; it is a transparent, classically-oriented work belying a complex emotional landscape riddled with Shostakovich’s irreverent sense of humour.

CLICK HERE to view the livestream of this concert

The concert will be available to view on demand for 30 days after the orginal performance until 7.30pm (GMT) on Friday 2 April 2021.
The concert livestream will be accessible behind a paywall as an embedded Vimeo video stream. It is best to watch through an up-to-date browser (we recommend Google Chrome on a PC and Safari on an Apple device). You can then connect to your TV or HIFI via a cable connection. An Amazon Firestick is also compatible using the Amazon Silk browser direct on a TV as well as most default browsers on SMART TVs.

Works and composers

Schubert Symphony No.3
Liadov The Enchanted Lake
Shostakovich Symphony No.9

Supported by

Terence & Annette O'Rourke