Mozart composed his delightful Divertimento in D Major, along with its two companions, during down-time in Salzburg in the winter of 1772. It is a fine example of his ambitious work in a genre traditionally designated as “light” music. His Fourth Horn Concerto is a winsome gallop through the Austrian countryside. It’s most famous for its rollicking third movement, a popular party piece for French horn players, but such vivid and varied ground is covered here that you’ll feel like you’ve been on a bracing hike. The designation ‘Nullt’ or No.0, for Bruckner’s early D minor Symphony has perhaps brought it a certain ridicule; the odd name comes from an inscription by the composer on the title page. It is an extremely attractive symphony – lighter and more accessible than the more frequently heard First and Second.

Felix Klieser is the BSO’s Artist-in-Residence for 2021-2123.

CLICK HERE to download the concert programme

Pre-Concert Talk

Make the most of your concert by getting to know the music in more depth with our informative video about the pieces being performed.

Works and composers

Mozart Divertimento in D K.136
Mozart Horn Concerto No.4
Bruckner Symphony No.0 ‘Nullte’

Supported by

Dave & Jan Pointer