Awakening is a spiritual choral work based at Stonehenge near Salisbury. Setting 16 spiritual poems by Stephen Feltham,  Awakening portrays the cycle of hope experienced by humanity as it progresses through the celestial cycle exhibited by the equinoxes and solstices. The work is in four main sections: Spring Equinox; Summer Solstice; Autumn Equinox; Winter Solstice.

Works and composers

Tallis Hymn
Vaughan Williams Fantasia on a Theme by Thomas Tallis
Parry Blest Pair of Sirens
Carr Awakening
I have always been drawn to the four season and was delighted to see that in writing his celestial cycle, Awakening, the seasons are ever-present as a kind of spiritual guide for humankind in Stephen’s powerful setting. I felt very drawn to this spiritual journey; a journey that is true to all of us as human beings on this earth – a necessity to be in touch with our world, with nature, and above all with humanity; a journey of acceptance, love, and a common embracement which is as necessary now as it has always been, perhaps even more so in these disturbingly dark times we presently inhabit. This is a Cycle of Hope.
Paul Carr