The ‘Emperor’ is the largest in scale of all Beethoven’s concertos. An epic tour de force, pitching soloist and orchestra in a musical argument of unprecedented breadth and scale, full chordal textures and wide dynamic range. A spirit of heroism infuses the music, whilst the sublime slow movement is one of his most profound. Beethoven’s Seventh Symphony was first performed at a mammoth concert in 1813 which was one of his greatest public successes. Described by Wagner as “the apotheosis of the dance”, with boundless energy and rhythmic impetus the music rages forward, almost demonically, with climax after climax, right to the brilliant final notes and one of the most thrilling endings in all music.

CLICK HERE to download a pdf of the concert programme with full notes on the pieces being performed

Pre-Concert Talk

Make the most of your concert by getting to know the music in more depth with our informative video about the pieces being performed.


Works and composers

Beethoven Piano Concerto No.5 ‘Emperor’
Beethoven Symphony No.7

Supported by

Michael & Judy Buckland