Following our Proms in the Park concerts in Summer the BSO will return for another season of extraordinary orchestral music spanning the classical canon both historically and stylistically. We have a whole host of surprises in store for our upcoming season, but before we can reveal those we want to tell you about our pre-season concerts taking place this July and September.


Symphonic Delights

Chichester, Cathedral
Saturday 11 July, 7.30pm
Book now

The BSO return to the phenomenal Chichester Cathedral as part of their 2020 Festival of Chichester, performing four of the most well-known and iconic pieces in the classical canon by notable composers from across history. Featuring Smetana’s Vltava¬†alongside Delius’ Walk to the Paradise Green and Vaughan Williams’ The Lark Ascending, this concert has something for every fan of orchestral music.

The concert also concludes with Brahms’ lively and colourful Symphony No.2, composed during a picturesque Austrian holiday taken by the composer its cheerful yet mature nature is sure to delight.


September Serenade

Sidmouth, Parish Church
Wednesday 9 September, 7.30pm
Book now

Bodmin, St. Petroc’s
Friday 11 September, 7.30pm
Book now

Christchurch, Priory
Saturday 12 September, 7.30pm
Book now

Bring in the end of the Summer with four smooth Autumnal classics, including Delius’ emotive Two Aquarelles and Elgar’s haunting Introduction and Allegro, inspired by a distant choir heard by the composer on a visit to the Welsh coastline.

Featuring BSO principals Anna Pyne and Eluned Pierce performing Mozart’s Concerto for Flute and Harp, the evening concludes with Schubert’s Symphony No.5, the prodigal symphony written by the 19-year-old composer taking influence from Mozart and utilising his considerable talent with this emotionally rich piece of music.

Hall of Fame

Barnstaple, Queen’s Theatre
Tuesday 15 September, 7.30pm
Book now

Yeovil, Octagon
Wednesday 16 September, 7.30pm
Book now

Weymouth, Pavilion
Thursday 17 September, 7.30pm
Book now

Enjoy a trio of classics representing three great composers working at the peak of their phenomenal talents. Opening with Brahms’ Variations on a Theme by Haydn, this delicate work built on the composer’s long-standing interest in earlier music of the Baroque and Classical eras. The concert then continues with Tchaikovsky’s Violin Concerto, written during a period of spiritual and emotive exuberance for Tchaikovsky himself, his jubilant enthusiasm for his art is felt in every note of this work.

Beethoven’s Symphony No.5 concludes the concert, opening with perhaps the most famous opening notes in musical history and written in an attempt by the composer to “grasp fate at the throat”, imbuing this piece with a passion that reverberates throughout.