Launched by a stirring call to attention Mozart’s brilliant Haffner Symphony marked a big departure for the period. The finale, which Mozart requested be played “as fast as possible” bubbles over with comic-opera vivaciousness. Mendelssohn’s musical Hebridean postcard conjures up the grandeur of Fingal’s Cave, the swelling of the sea, the light on the water and the fury of the waves breaking on the cliffs. Mendelssohn’s clear joy in evoking the soul of Italy is present throughout his Fourth Symphony. Extroverted from the outset, conjuring up sunny skies and radiant landscapes in a virtually flawless assembly of airy and fiery dances, it never lets the excitement lapse for a moment.

The concert will be available to view on demand for 30 days after the orginal performance until 7.30pm (GMT) on Friday 21 May 2021.
The concert livestream will be accessible behind a paywall as an embedded Vimeo video stream. It is best to watch through an up-to-date browser (we recommend Google Chrome on a PC and Safari on an Apple device). You can then connect to your TV or HIFI via a cable connection. An Amazon Firestick is also compatible using the Amazon Silk browser direct on a TV as well as most default browsers on SMART TVs.

Works and composers

Mozart Symphony No.35 'Haffner'
Mendelssohn The Hebrides Overture
Mendelssohn Symphony No.4 'Italian'

Dedicated with thanks to our loyal Members