The special intimacy of the Library at St. Giles on an autumnal evening is sure to provide the perfect setting for this concert by one of the UK’s most distinguished String Quartets. The music shows the full range of expression possible, from the passion of Purcell’s Chaconne and Mendelssohn’s last major work through to Karen Tanka’s work inspired by Beethoven, written for the Brodsky’s and Ravel’s glorious, youthful quartet.

Works and composers

Purcell Chaconne in G Minor
Karen Tanaka At the Grave of Beethoven
Mendelssohn String Quartet No.6, Op.80 in F minor
Ravel String Quartet in F